MD SLOY Finalists

Ocean Pines, MD (February 8, 2023) - Maryland Association of School Librarians (MASL) is pleased to announce the 44 nominees, and 14 finalists, for the 2023 Maryland School Librarian of the Year award which honors a school librarian for exemplary service and outstanding achievements in the field of school library media. The recipient of the award will be announced at the Maryland Association of School Librarians Conference in Linthicum, Maryland (April 15, 2023).

To be considered for this award, nominees met the basic eligibility requirements, including being a current member of MASL, a Certified School Librarian, actively serving as a school librarian in a public, private, or independent school in Maryland that serves any students in grades PreK-12, and serving in the same role/position for three or more years.

The recipient of the 2023 Maryland School Librarian of the Year award will receive a plaque and complimentary registration to MASL’s 2024 Conference provided by MASL.  The recipient will also receive a variety of prizes from our sponsors.  Finalists will receive plaques.

Finalists for the 2023 Maryland School Librarian of the Year:

  • Meaghan Axel, Worcester County, Snow Hill Elementary School
  • Christy Batelka, Howard County, Ellicott Mills Middle School
  • Jacob Gerding, Charles County, Dr. Thomas L. Higdon Elementary School 
  • Meredith Hickman, Montgomery County, Seven Locks Elementary School
  • Sheri Massey, Montgomery County, Cabin John Middle School
  • Margaret Miller, Carroll County, Runnymede Elementary School
  • Sharon Murdoch, Queen Anne’s Elementary School, Bayside Elementary School
  • Stacey Nunn, Baltimore County, Winand Elementary School,
  • Kimberly Patterson, Baltimore City, The Empowerment Academy
  • Delena Penn, Baltimore City, The Stadium School
  • Valerie Pozzuto-Pfister, Washington County, Smithsburg Middle School
  • Jennifer Richards, Anne Arundel County, Jacobsville Elementary School
  • Claire Ring, Harford County, Fallston Middle School
  • Michael Stencil, Carroll County, East Middle School

Nominees for the 2023 Maryland School Librarian of the Year:

  • Christopher Angus, Calvert County, Windy Hill Elementary
  • Jane Arukwe, Baltimore City, Mary E. Rodman Elementary School
  • Brandi Baril, St. Mary’s County, White Marsh Elementary
  • Audrey Burt, Wicomico County, Bennett Middle School 
  • Trish Cole, St. Mary’s County, Great Mills High School
  • Jessica Deeney, St. Mary’s County, Ridge Elementary School
  • Priscilla Dyson, St. Mary’s County, Spring Ridge Middle School
  • Karen Ferruzza, Charles County, Arthur Middleton Elementary
  • Mary Brooke Fitzpatrick, Calvert County, St. Leonard Elementary
  • Courtney Goldbeck, Baltimore County, Middle River Middle School
  • Kelly Greer, Baltimore County, Battle Grove Elementary
  • Jenna Haberlein, Allegany County, Mount Savage School
  • Brenda Hager, St. Mary’s County, Leonardtown High
  • Erin Hauser, Baltimore City, Glenmount Elementary/Middle School
  • Ami Holden, Howard County, Gorman Crossing Elementary School
  • Raye Ellen Horner, Talbot County, Easton Elementary School
  • Santina Jannotti, Baltimore County, George Washington Carver Center for Arts & Technology
  • Cheryl Keane, Howard County, Gorman Crossing Elementary School
  • Amber Kilcoyne, Baltimore City, Medfield Heights
  • Erin Neal, Wicomico County, Parkside High School
  • Mandy O'Neill, St. Mary’s County, Chopticon High School
  • Melaney Sanchez, Calvert County, Mount Harmony Elementary School
  • Alyssa Smith, Baltimore County, Catonsville Middle School
  • Samantha Stitley, Carroll County, Winfield Elementary School
  • Sally Wolfe, Calvert County, Sunderland Elementary School

The list of nominees is available on the Maryland Association of School Librarians website.  Visit for more information.

The general purpose of MASL is the improvement of teaching and learning in Maryland by bringing together individuals who are engaged in the field of school library media and information studies. MASL achieves the general purpose by working toward developing a lifelong love of reading among students in Maryland, developing skills and promoting excellence in print and nonprint media production among students in Maryland, and promoting and providing for the professional development of its members. In addition,  MASL encourages the dissemination and sharing of ideas, programs and materials among members through conferences, publications, and other media, and encourages the implementation of state and national standards and guidelines for school library media programs.

Share this post:

Comments on "MD SLOY Finalists"

Comments 0-5 of 0

Please login to comment