SLOY 2024 Finalists Announced

Ocean Pines, MD (February 25, 2024) - Maryland Association of School Librarians (MASL) is pleased to announce the 11 finalists, for the 2024 Maryland School Librarian of the Year award which honors a school librarian for exemplary service and outstanding achievements in the field of school library media. The recipient of the award will be announced in May.

To be considered for this award, nominees met the basic eligibility requirements, including being a current member of MASL, a Certified School Librarian, actively serving as a school librarian in a public, private, or independent school in Maryland that serves any students in grades PreK-12, and serving in the same role/position for three or more years.

The recipient of the 2024 Maryland School Librarian of the Year award will receive a plaque and complimentary registration to MASL’s 2024 Conference provided by MASL.  The recipient will also receive a variety of prizes from our sponsors including a Maryland themed basket from Taylor Book Group.  Finalists will receive plaques.

Finalists for the 2024 Maryland School Librarian of the Year:

  • Jennifer Beach, Pocomoke Middle, Worcester County
  • Kathryn Berling, Taneytown Elementary, Carroll County
  • Michelle Brown, Mt. Hebron High, Howard County
  • Lisa Hack, Silver Spring International Middle, Montgomery County
  • Melissa King, Flower Hill Elementary, Montgomery County
  • Teri Nielsen, Waugh Chapel Elementary, Anne Arundel County
  • Tracy Papinchock, Patterson Mill High, Harford County
  • Danielle Schwessinger, Elmer A. Wolfe Elementary, Carroll County
  • Lindsey Weaver, West Frederick Middle, Frederick County
  • Amy Young-Buckler, Meade Heights Elementary, Anne Arundel County
  • Christina Zimmerman, Monarch Global Academy, Anne Arundel County

The full list of nominees is available on the Maryland Association of School Librarians website.  Visit for more information.

The general purpose of MASL is the improvement of teaching and learning in Maryland by bringing together individuals who are engaged in the field of school library media and information studies. MASL achieves the general purpose by working toward developing a lifelong love of reading among students in Maryland, developing skills and promoting excellence in print and nonprint media production among students in Maryland, and promoting and providing for the professional development of its members. In addition,  MASL encourages the dissemination and sharing of ideas, programs and materials among members through conferences, publications, and other media, and encourages the implementation of state and national standards and guidelines for school library media programs.

Maryland Association of School Librarians (MASL)  
Brittany Tignor & Melaney Sanchez, MASL Awards Co-Chairs
[email protected]
Download the Press Release
Share this post:

Comments on "SLOY 2024 Finalists Announced"

Comments 0-5 of 0

Please login to comment